
CANDIDATE’S GUIDE TO FILING FOR OFFICE 

August 7, 2018 Primary 
 

CANDIDACY REQUIREMENTS 

 

 Affidavit of Tax Payments: Prior to filing, each candidate must submit a copy of their 

notarized Affidavit of Tax Payments.  www.dor.mo.gov/personal/candidates/ 
 

 Written Declaration of Candidacy: Each candidate must file a written declaration of 

candidacy with the appropriate election authority no later than 5:00 p.m. on the last 

Tuesday in March (3-27-2018).  Declarations cannot be accepted before 8:00 a.m. on the 

last Tuesday in February (2-27-2018). 

https://greenecountymo.gov/files/PDF/file.pdf?id=9854 
 

 Filing Fees: Most candidates are subject to a filing fee which is payable to the Treasurer of 

the candidate’s state or county party committee, depending on the office being sought.  The 

fees and filing locations are as follows: 
 

FEDERAL OFFICE  FILES WITH  FILING FEE           PAID TO 

U. S. Senate   Sec. of State   $200           State Party 

U. S. Congress                      "    $100           " 

STATE OFFICE  FILES WITH  FILING FEE           PAID TO 

Auditor                              Sec. of State                         $200           State Party  

State Senator          "    $100           " 

State Representative         "    $50           " 

COUNTY OFFICE  FILES WITH  FILING FEE           PAID TO 

Presiding Commissioner County Clerk   $50           County Party 

Circuit Clerk    "                              "                       "  

County Clerk    "                              "                       "  

Recorder of Deeds   "                              "                       "  

Prosecuting Attorney   "                              "                       "  

Auditor     "                              "                       "  

Collector    "                              "                       "  

    
 

Filing fees may be waived by filing a “declaration of inability to pay” and a petition endorsing the 

filer’s candidacy.  See RSMo. 115.357.3 for details.  Candidates for county committee positions are 

not required to pay filing fees in Greene County, or file DOR Form 5120. 
 

If the declaration is filed in person, it will be subscribed and sworn to before the official authorized to 

accept declarations of candidacy.  The candidate must provide an acceptable form of identification.  

Under certain conditions, declarations may be filed by certified mail.  Ask your election authority for 

more details.  Per RSMo 115.351 a candidate may not file for more than one office or as a candidate 

for the same office on more than one party ticket at the same election.   

 

PLACEMENT ON THE BALLOT: For the first day of filing only, each candidate filing in 

Greene County will draw a random number to determine their placement on the ballot.  After the first 

day, and for the remainder of the filing period, the order of filing will determine ballot position. 
 

For more information on filing and election laws, call the Greene County Clerk’s office at 868-

4060, or the Missouri Secretary of State’s Office at (800) 669-8683, or refer to their website on the 

Internet at:  www.sos.mo.gov.  The information presented here was obtained from Chapter 115 of the 

Missouri Revised Statutes (RSMo).   

http://www.dor.mo.gov/personal/candidates/
https://greenecountymo.gov/files/PDF/file.pdf?id=9854
http://www.sos.mo.gov/

