

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

April 10, 2023

Personal Property and Business Assessment list deadline May 1 Assessor launches a new tool to provide assessment status.

SPRINGFIELD, Mo - Greene County Assessor Brent Johnson is reminding Greene County residents and business owners to make sure they have submitted their 2023 Personal Property and Business Assessment lists by May 1 to avoid late assessment penalties. Second notice postcards were mailed to Greene County residents and Business owners who had not yet returned their 2023 Personal Property and Business Assessments by the March 1, 2023, deadline.

Johnson's office first mailed assessment lists to county residents and businesses in early January. Those who had not already returned their list by the March 1 deadline received a second notice from Johnson's office. "I want to make sure everyone has the opportunity to return their lists by May 1 to avoid late assessment penalties which range from \$15 to \$105, depending on assessed value," Johnson said.

How to file your 2023 Personal or Business Assessments List:

- **Online:** File electronically file on the Greene County Assessor's website at, https://greenecountymo.gov/assessor/
- By Mail: Return the paper form to the Assessor's Office.
- In-Person: File in person at the Assessor's Office.

Assessments cannot be completed by phone or email.

This year Johnson added a new feature to the Greene County Assessor's website that allows residents and businesses to check if their Assessment has been received. "My goal is to help our residents and business owners as much as possible during the assessment process. This tool provides transparency on the status of your assessment list," according to Johnson.

To check the status of your 2023 Personal Property and Business Assessment List go to the Greene County Assessors website at, https://greenecountymo.gov/assessor/. Click on the orange button at the top of page to check your 2023 assessment status.

Greene County Missouri Assessor									
	Assessor Home	Search	Information	Forms	Online Filing	Contacts			
Click Here to File Online									
		Click her	e to check your 202	3 assessmen	t status				

You will be prompted to enter your Personal or Business Personal Property Account Number.

Please enter your account/tax ID.	
If you need assistance finding your account/tax ID please search here.	
Account/ Tax ID: Check	

Enter your account number and click check. The status of your account will be displayed.

The status on this account is: Received

Filed on: 1/6/23

Assessment List has been received by the Assessor's Office

The status on this account is: Not received

Assessment List has **NOT** been received by the Assessor's Office

The status on this account is: List returned by post office

Assessment List was returned by Post Office. Contact the Assessor's Office.

Missouri law (RSMo. Chapter 137) requires all Greene County residents and business owners as of Jan. 1, 2023, to declare all taxable personal and business property to the assessor, including motor vehicles, boats, trailers, livestock, farm machinery and business-related equipment. The assessment lists are the basis of 2023 personal and business property tax bills, which county residents and business owners receive in November from the Collector of Revenue.

Residents and business owners who did not receive an assessment list should call the Greene County Assessor's office at (417) 868-4101 or visit the office in the Greene County Historic Courthouse, 940 N. Boonville, Room 37, Springfield, Mo. Office hours are 8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m., Monday through Friday.