# Greene County Recorder

# **Cheryl Dawson - Spaulding**



#### Recorder's Office

Number of Employees = 9

#### **Duties:**

Records Deeds Maintains subdivision plats Maintains tax lien filings Maintains military discharges Issues marriage licenses

### 2022 Recording Fee Income Summary

	Number of	
Department	<b>Documents Recorded</b>	Fee \$ Collected
Real Estate	51,187	1,918,300.59
Marriage Licenses	2,238	114,138.00
Marriage Licenses		
(Certified Copies)	4,541	40,869.00
State/Federal Tax Liens	94	768.00
Releases, Terminations, etc	737	2,139.00
Copies, Discs, etc.		215,158.12
TOTAL	58,535	2,291,372.71

### 2022 Distribution of Recording Fees

PAYEE	RECIPIENT	AMOUNT \$ DISTRIBUTED
MO Dept of Revenue	Children's Trust Fund	65,357.00
MO Dept of Revenue	State User Fee	106,836.00
MO Dept of Revenue	Missouri Housing Trust	153,540.00
Greene County Treasurer	CERF (Retirement Fund)	375,198.00
Greene County Treasurer	General Revenue	1,288,965.71
Greene County Treasurer	Domestic Violence Fund	22,380.00
Greene County Treasurer	Recorder's User Fee	176,736.00
MO Dept of Revenue	Statutory County Recorder's Fund	102,360.00
TOTAL DISTRIBUTION		2,291,372.71

## **Recorder's Office Budget**

Expenses	Fund 101	Fund 237
Salaries & Benefits	574,346.82	
Contractual		1,300.00
Training & Meetings		10,500.00
Maintenance		45,000.00
Supplies		18,300.00
Equipment		470,000.00
Totals	574,346.82	545,100.00

**Fees Collected from Real Estate Recordings** Deeds \$24.00 for 1<sup>st</sup> page and \$3.00 each page thereafter.

-Missouri Housing	\$3.00
-CERF	\$7.00
-State (Land Survey)	\$2.00
-Statutory Recorder	\$2.00
-Recorder	\$3.25



\$1.25 for Technology \$2.00 for Microfilm, Record Preservation -General Revenue gets the remainder

### **Fees Collected from Marriage Licenses**

-General Revenue -Children's Trust Fund -Domestic Violence Fund -CERF

-User Fee

\$1.00 State (land survey) \$1.00 State (SOS Records)

\$15.00 \$15.00 \$10.00 \$ 7.00 \$ 4.00



\$51.00

#### **Certified Copies needed for name change after 9/11**

## -Children's Trust Fund -General Revenue

\$7.00 <u>\$2.00</u> \$9.00



Missouri's Foundation For Child Abuse Prevention

### **Tax Liens**

-State liens fees are \$3.00 for a new lien and \$1.50 for a termination (full amount goes to General Revenue).

-Federal liens fees are \$9.00 for a new lien and \$7.50 for a termination. CERF receives a portion.

- -New filing \$6.00
- -Termination \$6.00
- -General Revenue gets remainder

# Interesting Facts:

From **1967 to present** - our largest recording year was in 2003 91,240 documents with \$2,002,830.00 going to GR.

1980 repealed blood test - 3 day waiting period remained in effect until 2007.

2002 Standardized Formatting of documents

**2007** Greene County was one of the first counties to <u>ERecord</u> Over 83 percent of documents were <u>ERecorded</u> in 2022.





2015 (June) after a SCOTUS ruling all states started issuing

**2018** (August) minimum age for a license was raised from 15 to 16 (with parental consent) and it barred the marriage between anyone 21 and older to a person younger than 18.

**2018** (August) legislation aimed at addressing fraudulent filing of liens with enhanced penalties if the victim is a member of law enforcement or a public official.